An explosive afternoon at Forest

The annual competition involves Year Six pupils from over 20 schools taking part in science-based challenges at Forest School.

The competition, which included three exercises of 35 minutes each, required the pupils’ imagination and innovation. The teams’ answers were then scored by a team of expert Forest judges.

This year, the winning team was from Gatehouse School who scored top marks. Daiglen School and Yardley Primary School, followed in second and third place respectively.

Gatehouse School said they were “thrilled” to have come first, having placed third last year.

Following the competition, Dr Henley-Smith treated the pupils to several explosive experiments in the Dining Hall, which were greeted with excited applause.

The schools taking part included Buckhurst Hill Community Primary School, Calverton Primary School, Chase Lane Primary School, Chingford C of E Junior School, Daiglen School, Fairlop Primary School, Forest Preparatory School, Gatehouse School, Grangewood Independent School, Gwyn Jones Primary School, Loyola Preparatory School, Oakdale Junior School, Oakhill Primary School, Oaklands Prep School, Our Lady and St George’s Catholic Primary School, Selwyn Junior School, St Aubyn’s School, St John’s C of E Primary School, The Gower School, Thorpe Hall Primary School, Wanstead C of E School, Wells Primary School and Yardley Primary School.

Well done to all the pupils who took part this year.