Scholarships at 11+

Scholarships are awarded to pupils that demonstrate excellence during a competitive assessment process and are currently awarded for Sport, Music, Art, Drama and Academic excellence. The maximum Scholarship awarded to any one pupil is 20% of full fees, whether in one area of excellence or in a combination of one or more areas of excellence. Up to the equivalent of 6 places may be awarded annually to candidates at 11+. The number of places allocated includes both Scholarship and Bursary awards. However, most Scholarships will be awarded as a smaller percentage, usually 15%/10%/5%.

11+ Music Scholarships Q&A

11+ Sport Scholarships Q&A

11+ Art Scholarships Q&A

11+ Drama Scholarships Q&A

Key dates for 11+ September 2023 Entry

Open Day Saturday 17 September 2022 (book a place here)
The Forest Experience Group Tours September – December 2022
11+ Information Morning Saturday 8 October 2022
11+ Information Morning Saturday 19 November 2022
Closing date for Registrations Friday 25 November 2022 – 12 Noon
Closing date for Non-Academic Scholarship Application Forms Friday 2 December 2022 – 12 Noon
11+ Interview (via Microsoft Teams) Saturday 3 December 2022
11+ Art Scholarship Assessments Wednesday 7 December 2022 (AM)
11+ Drama Scholarship Auditions Wednesday 7 December 2022 (PM)
11+ Sport Scholarship Assessments Thursday 8 December 2022 (Boys & Girls)
11+ Music Scholarship Day Saturday 10 December 2022
Closing date for Bursary Application Form Friday 9 December 2022 – 12 Noon
11+ Receipt of School Reference Deadline Friday 9 December – 12 Noon
11+ Entrance Exam Friday 6 January 2023
11+ Academic Scholarship Interviews w/c Monday 16 January 2023
11+ Shortlisted Sport Scholarship Assessment Thursday 19 January 2023 (Boys)                              Friday 20 January 2023 (Girls)
11+ Shortlisted Art Assessment Monday 23 January 2023 (AM)
11+ Shortlisted Drama Assessment Monday 23 January 2023 (PM)
11+ Shortlisted Music Scholarship Auditions Tuesday 24 January 2023
11+ Offers Emailed Thursday 16 February 2023
Taster Days for candidates holding offers Wednesday 22 February, Friday 24 February and Monday 27 February 2023
Tours offered to candidates holding offers Wednesday 22 February, Friday 24 February and Monday 27 February 2023
Deadline for Acceptance of Offer 10am on Monday 6 March 2023

Scholarships at 16+

Scholarships are awarded for outstanding academic ability and exceptional attainment in Art, Drama, Music and Sport.

Scholarships are not means-tested and are awarded in percentage increments up to 20% of full fees and are subject to annual review. 20% of full fees is the maximum non-means-tested fee remission awarded in respect of any one pupil, whether in one area of excellence or in a combination of one or more areas of excellence and are subject to annual review.

Candidates who receive scholarships in non-academic areas are strongly encouraged to take the subject at A level. Candidates who hold non-academic awards are expected to make a significant contribution to the relevant area, which will be monitored in an annual Scholarship review meeting.

16+ Non-Academic Scholarships Guideline

 

Key dates for 16+ September 2023 Entry

Sixth Form Open Evening Monday 26 September 2022
Closing date for Registrations  Friday 14 October 2022 – 12 Noon
Closing date for Bursary Application Forms Wednesday 2 November – 12 Noon
Closing date for Non-Academic Scholarship Forms Monday 7 November 2022 – 12 Noon
16+ Entrance Exam Saturday 12 November 2022 (AM)
16+ Non-Academic Scholarship Assessments Sport: w/c Monday 14 November 2022                                            Art: Tuesday 15 November 2022 (AM)                                                  Drama: Tuesday 15 November 2022 (PM)                                    Music: Wednesday 16 November 2022
16+ Academic Scholarship Interviews w/c Monday 21 November 2022
16+ Co-Curricular Meeting for shortlisted candidates Monday 28 November 2022
16+ Fee Paying Interviews w/c Monday 28 November 2022
Offers Emailed Monday 5 December 2022
Deadline for Acceptance of Offer  Monday 9 January 2023 – 12 Noon

 

Scholarship Regulations

All Scholarship awards are made on the basis of assessed merit at the discretion of the School and the School’s decision is final.

All internal material relating to the assessment, such as examination scripts, interview notes and results, remain the confidential property of Forest School.

All Scholarships are awarded for the full duration of the pupil’s life at the School, subject to annual review of performance and the pupil meeting expected conduct levels.  The School reserves the right to reduce or remove the level of Scholarship where there are significant concerns about the pupil’s commitment or progress; at least a term’s notice will be given of any such decision.

 

Exhibitions

Forest School may occasionally offer Exhibition awards.  Exhibition awards are small discounts offered to pupils whose performance during the Scholarship assessment process shows potential but has not attracted a Scholarship.

In the case of Music, Exhibition awards meet the cost of lessons in one or more instruments and may be awarded in place or in addition to a Music Scholarship.  They may also be awarded at the discretion of the Director of Music at points other than entry.

All Exhibitions are awarded at the discretion of the School and cannot be directly applied for. Exhibition awards do not bring with them eligibility for Bursarial support.

Exhibitions Regulations

Exhibitions may be removed at any stage if the pupil’s commitment or progress no longer merits this recognition.

 

NB: The School reserves the right to review criteria and awards annually and will give appropriate notice of any changes made.